Redistricting Commission Approves New Congressional Districting Maps

By Hamodia Staff

The New York State Independent Redistricting Commission has approved new maps for the 2024 Congressional races by a vote of 9-1, the New York Post reported.

The bipartisan commission approved the changes on Thursday, February 15, and will now be sent to the New York State Legislature, which is controlled by the Democrat Party, and then to Governor for her signature and final approval.

Although the proposed changes have the possibility to tip the scales in some close elections, the commission is actually suggesting only minor changes to districts in Upstate New York, leaving most districts in the New York City area and its suburbs unchanged.

The 16th district, where ‘Squad’ member Jamaal Bowman is being opposed by moderate challenger George Latimer, will remain unchanged, as will the nearby 17th district, where Republican Mike Lawler is currently representing the district.

The 22nd district, represented by Republican Brandon Williams, would be redrawn to include the city of Syracuse and village of Auburb, which contains more Democrats,

While the 19th District, where Rep. Marc Molinaro serves, will gain some of Otsego County which is conservative-leaning

District 18, where Rep. Pat Ryan, Democrat serves, would include some areas north of Kingston.

If either house of the legislature rejects the new maps, they can be sent back to the commission for one more try, and if rejected a second time, the legislature, controlled by Democrats, may draw and gerrymander the maps themselves.

The maps are being redrawn after the state’s highest court ruled the redistricting commission should get a second crack at submitting plans to the legislature.

The commission broke down during its first attempt to draw the maps in 2021, ultimately leading courts to draw the districts that are currently in place.

To Read The Full Story

Are you already a subscriber?
Click to log in!