After U.S. Visa Waiver Allowance, Israel Seeks More Entry to Other Countries


While Israel’s entry into the United States’ Visa Waiver Program is a significant development, it’s essential to note that many other countries still require Israeli citizens to obtain visas for entry. Among these countries are China, India, Australia, Morocco, Nepal, Vietnam, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Egypt, and Jordan.

In recent months, alongside Israel’s progress in joining the U.S. Visa Waiver Program, the Foreign Ministry has signed several agreements aimed at facilitating Israeli citizens’ entry into other countries. Agreements have been reached with Antigua and Barbuda in the Caribbean, as well as Seychelles, set to take effect in November, making it easier for Israelis to visit these destinations.

Israel also signed an agreement with Vietnam, streamlining the visa application process, allowing Israelis to obtain digital visas without visiting the country’s embassy in person. Starting from January, entry to Papua New Guinea will be visa-free following recent bilateral agreements.

Efforts are ongoing with Thailand, where Israelis can already enter for free for up to 30 days, as well as with Zambia and Tuvalu.

On Wednesday, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu celebrated the U.S. announcement, recognizing it as a momentous occasion for all Israeli citizens. He highlighted the convenience it brings, saving time, effort, and money for those wishing to visit the United States. Netanyahu emphasized that Israelis will no longer need to endure lengthy waits for visa appointments.

To Read The Full Story

Are you already a subscriber?
Click to log in!