U.S. Approves 28 NY Counties for March Storm Recovery Aid

New York disaster snow
A snowplow on the I-90 Thruway near Albany on March 14. (AP Photo/Hans Pennink)

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo says more than two dozen upstate counties are eligible for federal aid to cover costs from a late-winter storm that dumped more than three feet of snow on parts of the region.

Republican President Donald Trump on Wednesday approved the federal disaster declaration for 28 upstate counties impacted by the March 14-15 blizzard.

Cuomo says state and local governments had more than $31 million in snow removal costs and infrastructure damage from a storm that dumped 18 to 41 inches in an area stretching from the Adirondacks to the Mid-Hudson Valley and from the Albany area to the western Mohawk Valley.

A major disaster declaration enables counties to seek assistance from the federal government to recover storm costs.

The storm was blamed for at least three deaths.

To Read The Full Story

Are you already a subscriber?
Click to log in!