EU Set to Add United States to Safe Travel List

BRUSSELS (Reuters) —
Travelers walk towards the COVID-19 testing center at Heathrow Airport in London.(AP Photo/Frank Augstein)

European Union governments agreed on Wednesday to add the United States to their list of countries from which they will allow non-essential travel, EU diplomats said.

Ambassadors from the EU’s 27 countries approved the addition of the United States and five other countries at a meeting on Wednesday, with the change to take effect in the coming days.

Albania, Lebanon, North Macedonia, Serbia and Taiwan will be added, while Chinese administrative regions Hong Kong and Macau will be included with a requirement for reciprocity removed.

EU countries are recommended gradually to lift travel restrictions for the current eight countries on the list – Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand.

Individual EU countries can still opt to demand a negative COVID-19 test or a period of quarantine.

Countries can be added to the list if they have recorded fewer than 75 COVID cases per 100,000 inhabitants over the past 14 days.

According to figures from the European Center for Disease Control and Prevention, the rate is currently 73.9 in the U.S.

To Read The Full Story

Are you already a subscriber?
Click to log in!

Hamodia Logo