Pulitzer Winners Announced at Columbia University

(AP) —
Joseph Pulitzer, late publisher of the New York World and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. (AP Photo)
Joseph Pulitzer, late publisher of the New York World and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. (AP Photo)

Pulitzer Prize winners were announced on Monday afternoon, at Columbia University in New York. Below are the winners and finalists announced in some of the journalism-related categories, at the 100th edition of the prestigious awards.


Public Service:

The Associated Press, for a series of articles documenting the use of slave labor in the commercial seafood industry in Indonesia and Thailand. More than 2,000 enslaved fishermen were freed after officials took action as a result of the AP’s reporting.

Also nominated as finalists: InsideClimate News, for a report that Exxon conducted climate research and then, without revealing the information to its stockholders, worked to cast doubt on the scientific consensus it confirmed; and the Tampa Bay Times, for a story that studied the effects on education in Pinellas County, Florida (moved to the Local Reporting category).

Breaking News Reporting:

Los Angeles Times staff, for coverage of the San Bernardino massacre and the ensuing investigation.

Also nominated as finalists: The Baltimore Sun staff, for coverage of rioting that followed the death of Freddie Gray; and the staff of the Post and Courier, of Charleston, South Carolina, for obtaining video of a police officer shooting an unarmed motorist and reporting that put the shooting in context.

Investigative Reporting:

Leonora LaPeter Anton and Anthony Cormier, of the Tampa Bay Times, and Michael Braga, of the Sarasota Herald-Tribune, for a project on escalating violence and neglect in Florida mental hospitals.

Also nominated as finalists: Tom Robbins, of The Marshall Project, and Michael Schwirtz and Michael Winerip, of The New York Times, for a report on violence by corrections officers against inmates in New York state prisons; and Jessica Silver-Greenberg, Michael Corkery and Robert Gebeloff, of The New York Times, for an investigation into the clauses in consumer and employee contracts that often prohibit lawsuits.

Local Reporting:

Michael LaForgia, Cara Fitzpatrick and Lisa Gartner, of the Tampa Bay Times, for a story that studied the effects on education in Pinellas County, Florida, when schools in poor neighborhoods were essentially desegregated and neglected.

Nominated as finalists: Michael Sallah, Emily Michot, Joanna Zuckerman Bernstein and Sohail Al-Jamea, of the Miami Herald, for coverage of a local illegal-substances sting that cost tens of millions of dollars but yielded no significant arrests; Sarah Maslin Nir, of The New York Times, for an investigation into the labor and health practices of nail salons; and Chris Serres, Glenn Howatt and David Joles, of the Star Tribune, Minneapolis, for an exploration of the state’s health care system for the disabled.

National Reporting:

The Washington Post staff, for an examination of killings by police officers in the U.S., which found that 990 people had been shot and killed by on-duty police officers nationwide in 2015.

Also nominated as finalists: Jason Cherkis, of The Huffington Post, for reporting on opioid addiction; and Abrahm Lustgarten, Al Shaw, Jeff Larson, Naveena Sadasivam and David Sleight, of ProPublica, for coverage of the causes of the water crisis affecting the American West.

Feature Writing:

Kathryn Schulz of The New Yorker, for a story about the rupturing of the Cascadia fault line.

Also nominated as finalists: N.R. Kleinfield, of The New York Times, for an account of the last days of a Queens man; and Eli Saslow, of The Washington Post, for stories exploring lives affected by a natural disaster, gun violence and a frayed social safety net.


Farah Stockman of The Boston Globe, for columns on the legacy of busing in Boston and its lingering effect on education.

Also nominated as finalists: Steve Lopez, of the Los Angeles Times, for columns illuminating inequities in wealth and opportunity in Los Angeles; and Nicholas D. Kristof, of The New York Times, for columns focused on migrants from Syria and other regions.

Editorial Writing:

John Hackworth, of Sun Newspapers in Charlotte Harbor, Florida, for editorials on a deadly assault of an inmate by guards.

Also nominated as finalists: Andrew Green, Tricia Bishop, Peter Jensen and Glenn McNatt, of The Baltimore Sun, for editorials that demanded accountability in the aftermath of Freddie Gray’s death; and the editorial board of The New York Times, for editorials that focused on the human cost of gun violence.

Editorial Cartooning:

Jack Ohman, of The Sacramento Bee.

Also nominated as finalists: Matt Davies, of Newsday in New York; and Steve Sack, of the Star Tribune, Minneapolis.

Breaking News Photography:

Mauricio Lima, Sergey Ponomarev, Tyler Hicks and Daniel Etter, of The New York Times, for photographs of refugees and the peril of their journeys, and Thomson Reuters staff, for photos of migrants covering hundreds of miles.

Also nominated as a finalist: Andrew Burton, Chip Somodevilla, Patrick Smith and Drew Angerer, of Getty Images, for photos of protests over the death of Freddie Gray in Baltimore.

To Read The Full Story

Are you already a subscriber?
Click to log in!